NYC Marathon Recap

First things first. Two things.

This was -by far- THE BEST experience EVER!!! I’m not sure if I can live anything else like this ever again anywhere else in the world!!!
I came to this conclusion:
NYC + amazing volunteers + cheering spectators = the best imaginable marathon!
The cheering of the people gave me such an amazing boost during the whole 26.2 miles!
The PRO: he came injured from Buenos Aires and when he asked me “do you think I should run?” I just answered “of course! I would. What is done, is done. Would you miss it?”… But I didn’t know I was sending him into suffering land the whole way………………….  😦
It was in deed an unforgettable experience for him, too…but in the opposite way!
The paramedics had to work on him for 20 minutes during the course (massage, ice on his knee, and wrapped his knee with an elastic bandage)…..so he could keep moving on.
But the important thing here is always getting to that finish line, no matter what happens in the way. Hey, a lot can happen during those 26.2 miles, right?
And the PRO finished it!!! You’re MY IDOL! I love you! Nothing stops you!

Love New York
Here comes my recap. And now have a sit and relax because this will take me some time…!

New York City Marathon 2013: the recap

New York City Marathon 2013 medal

THE EXPO.

Our plane landed very early in the morning on October 31st.
BTW, my foot was really hurting, but I managed to walk…Couldn’t wait to rest and put ice on it.
After checking in at the hotel and having some breakfast we headed to the expo at Jacob Javits Center to pick up our bibs.

New York City Marathon 2013 expo

New York City Marathon 2013 expo New York City Marathon 2013 expo

 

 

 

 

It had just opened so there weren’t lots of people yet. There was extra security measures -like checking bags and backpacks- but it all went very quickly. 10-15′ at the most.

We got our bib numbers. And then the t-shirt and clear bag. Everything was very well organised to make it as quick as possible.

Along with the clear bag itself, we got a small Dove men, a timex magnet, a small bottle of water, chia seeds and nothing else I can recall.

New York City Marathon 2013 bib number

New York City Marathon 2013 t-shirt

 

 

 

New York City Marathon 2013 goody bag

Note: this year runners had two different options to leave Central Park quicker after the finish line.
1. Baggage: as always you could check the bag at Staten Island with some warm clothing that UPS would take to the finish line for you.
2. No Baggage (new): nothing checked and you would be able to leave Central Park quicker plus a “poncho” to keep you warm.
Our option: baggage.
Not because we chose it but because the travel partner did it for us -I mean ALL of us travelling through them. (grrrr…I never liked the idea, but WTH. Nothing we could do about it…really…? -mmm…)
Since we got in last year, in addition to the goody bag, we got a 2012/2013 bracelet and last year’s medal!

 

We wandered around, taking advantage of the not-yet-crowded expo. Many important brands were there -clothing, nutrition, glasses, compression…
I got a brand new pair of oakleys -which would be the only new thing I would do in my race.
I even found these very cool lens bags with my argentinian flag painted on it 🙂

It was kind of mission impossible to stop the PRO’s compulsive shopping!
At least he was finding something different than neon yellow… 😉

Later on, we got our inserts covers changed…
And a nice hot coffee back at the hotel…

The Apple Store at Fifth Ave was crazy full of people, as always. They were launching a new iPad and hundreds of chineses were popping up around the store out of nowhere…insane!

Oops I’m sorry…back to marathon…

 

PRE-MARATHON DAY.

Friday was an easy day. My foot was better but I decided I wouldn’t run before sunday.
Saturday was the day to get all things ready!
So I got some iron-on letters for our t-shirts. I wasn’t sure which one of my two I would wear so I stamped both.

The previous days were nice and warm but the weather forecast promised cooler temperatures for sunday morning…
At the end I went for the short sleeved T and arm warmers.
Let’s get everything ready for tomorrow!!!

NYCM 2013 night before

 

I made a list at home so I had little to think of in the morning
The Hilton got rid of its restaurant, (it did have one but just for breakfast, not for dinner or too-damn-early marathon breakfast of course) and had a deli -grab and go- cafeteria which had some tempting pizza we had for dinner (there was no pasta…)

SUNDAY MARATHON DAY: This is it!!!

It was sooooo early and I didn’t really sleep much. {As soon we got into bed the PRO turned around and got into snoring mode!!! How could he!?}
Our starting time was 10:05 am so my first breakfast:

NYCM breakfast

 

5:30 am we climbed into a van that our TP provided us with and headed to the Ferry Station.
This YouTube video explains pretty well how thousands of us runners were transported to Staten Island.

 

 

 

As soon as we got to Staten Island, we jumped on another bus that would finally take us to the starting area.

More security checkpoints and then off to find our color village.
Our group of friends was thinning out; some of them went into the Green village first -they started from the lower level of the Verrazano…lucky us we got the upper level :P), then came the Orange and finally our Blue one.

 

We basically walked, and walked, and walked. Porta potties everywhere, literally!

In the meantime we took turns to go to the potty one last time. Then we sat over some plastic bags we laid over the grass. And I had my second breakfast of the day…Basically everything else I could not get through my throat earlier…

 

The PRO checked his bag by 8:45 am; I decided I wouldn’t check anything and threw mine to the garbage…(Actually, I had something else in mind. I would try my luck to get out in the no baggage line just to get out quicker…shhh!)

 

At around 9 am we walked towards the corral entrance…OMG it’s time!
More porta potties inside the corrals (just the opposite than Paris!)

 

{ OMG! I just realised I lost my videos…!!! I can’t believe this just happened to me!
I swapped iPhones this morning and forgot to backup…!
I’m thankful I took many photos instead, but not during the race… 😦  UPDATED:  I finally found one I had uploaded to FB!
So, I will illustrate with some “borrowed” material }

At exactly 9:35 am the corrals closed. There was no turning back!!!
The minutes flew so fast, and then we were already moving forward.
I got rid of my jacket, my horrible minnie mouse sweat shirt and my wood hat. Only kept my gloves and arm warmers.
A nice woman voice sang the national anthem and right after that, under the emotive Frank Sinatra’s “My Way” song we started running!

NOTE: I just “borrowed” some nice pictures from running.competitor.com
It seems these guys did much better job than marathonphoto.com who only took me photos at Central Park and the finish line…mmm :/

I thought the first miles would be very crowded but to my surprise it wasn’t crowded at all. We were thousands but had a lot of space around us to run comfortably.

Helicopters were watching us from the sides of the bridge; they were really – really close!

With all the excitement and adrenaline I didn’t notice the Verrazano climbing, but I knew it was there so I did as I was told and took it easy the first two miles.
And then we got into Brooklyn. And that’s when the journey began; and the crowds cheering started and wouldn’t stop through the entire best 26.2 miles of my life!!!

Brooklyn (“Borrowed” from running.competitor.com)

Fans cheering every yard from mile 2.
And I got rid of the gloves.
On my left I saw the the Orange runners rejoined us; some minutes later the stream of Green runners joined us from the right. It was epic!

And on to Third Ave.
And I got rid of my old arm warmers.

 

 

This part of the course was a little monotonous, but with the boost of adrenaline still in my veins it all went by very quickly. I felt great keeping a 5:30 -5:45 min/km pace, just as I had planned. I started having a gel every 30′ with water and drinking gatorade at every station in between.
Past the 10k mark I thought I felt something odd in my ITB…but I just thought it was a product of my amazing imagination and kept enjoying the scenery… And then we took Lafayette Ave.


We were running through a nice tree covered street, but at some point I forgot about the trees and concentrated on my right leg.
It was real. My ITBS was back. Crap!
I stopped to stretch it a little and kept on running.
{ stretching the ITB is not quite convenient  when you have thousands of other runners coming from behind… 😛 as you can see in these pictures… }
Mmmm, no. Not very convenient doing it in the middle of the street.

 

 

This is why I had to spot a place with -preferably- no fans cheering; an almost impossible task.

So many things went through my mind… How in the world this happens TODAY and not during the whole damn training?!?! I could not believe that was really happening!
AND by the 15k mark! Why not at the 30k???!!!
And it was then when the fighter I have inside popped up and I promised myself I was going to give battle to my #$%@ ITB and finish the marathon one way or another!

 

 

And I kept moving forward, -swearing- stretching and walking at every water station and running in between.
At the half marathon mark, the first bridge: the Pulaski Bridge. I walked a little on the way up. Then I took advantage of the downhill and kept running.

Getting to the 25k mark the most feared bridge of all: the Queensboro Bridge. 1.6k uphill that seemed never-ending.

Of course I walked. My right leg was hurting. And then the downhill. So I ran again trying not to lift my knee much, and kept running.
And all of a sudden -coming out from the loneliness of the bridge- I heard them. I couldn’t see them yet but the crowds at First Ave were crazy and there were tons of them!

{ I recovered a video!!! I forgot I had posted this one on FB so here it is…my favorite part of the race besides the finish line }

[vimeo 99357173 w=500]

Lube Guy

We were offered everything from the fans: candies, bananas, water…and vaseline! Yes, from the crowds!

 

A rush of adrenaline came back to me! And it felt amazing!
At that point, when I needed it the most, I never stopped hearing people shouting my name!
Keep it up Sil! Doing great Sil! Good job Sil! Come on Sil!
OMG!!! What an incredible feeling!
I high fived everyone I could. Little kids, moms, dads, guys, ladies, grandpas. Every single one. It made me feel awesome. And my leg stopped hurting, or almost.

First Ave (Last “Borrowed” photo from running.competitor.com)

I had a smile stamped on my face and could do nothing about it.
I spotted an argentinian flag and I shouted at them! So much emotion!
The crowds wouldn’t stop cheering for us. So much enthusiasm. Such an energizing feeling …

From that 25k mark on I just enjoyed the course; didn’t even look at my Garmin anymore.
I knew I was behind of my planned times and I couldn’t care less.
First Ave is long and even though I’d heard it was too boring it didn’t seem that to me. Those miles went so fast… Listening to my name from strangers in the crowds felt so good!
Then to the Bronx. Lots of more energy and I realised we were coming back to the city through the last bridge!

Oh! And I didn’t even remember about the wall! What wall…???  😉

Those last blocks -uphill- across Fifth ave did seem never-ending…

And then at Central Park, it was it! Just a few more km to go!

 

 

 

That same road I had run during a few other trips to NY, now seemed narrower; it was full of people on the sides, waving and waiting for the high-5s!

It wasn’t until I got to 59th street that I noticed how late it was, the sun didn’t reach the street any more and I thought it was cold by the clothing people were wearing.

At the Columbus circle I knew I was almost there and I saw signs: 400 yards…300 yards 200…?! WTH?! There were Km and mi -and I had already learned the conversions… but yards??? And I quickly remembered the pools -there are 25yards pools and 25 mts pools so I concluded it would be more or less the same thing…

And there it was: THE finish line.

 

The same I’ve been reading about and the same I’ve been watching in every YouTube video out there!
My face says it all!

I’m soooo happy! I did it! In 4:22 hs

Mission #1: accomplished
Below 4:30 and able to walk back to my hotel…!

 

 

POST-RACE. Back to the hotel

We were given a thermal blanket and a recovery bag with Gatorade recovery, pretzels, granola and nuts mix and a mackintosh apple.

 

First thing I did was grabbing the pretzels from the bag. If I had founded anything sweet inside that bag I would have probably thrown it into someone’s head.


Now into Mission #2: try to infiltrate among the “no baggage” zombies as soon as possible.
I tried plan A, asking for permission to a volunteer at the beginning of the line. She said it was “difficult” but to give it a try.
I saw a girl that must have tried it and was taken to the other line…mmm…
On to plan B: do not ask, just do.
And I chose a pair of tall zombies to hide behind, and went through.
Walking down on Central Park West, I was already freezing when a bunch of amazing volunteers covered us with these nice warmy marathon-orange ponchos! 🙂

 

 

Now I feel warm!

And I continued with the very long walk back to the hotel -many streets were closed and lots of police agents everywhere.
And, to top it off, I ran into Meb Keflezighi in the elevator (of course he must have be coming from interviews, massages, lunch, etc -not the race itself like myself!) and I almost ask him for a photo -omg I never thought I would ever act like a freaking fan!- but thanks god I went back to earth and didn’t!
Later that day, I heard he had to stop at the 20mile mark and walk; he finished it anyway… Like my PRO…!!!
He even congratulated me for the race! Ha!

In. cre. di. ble. day.
Everyone who enjoy running and have the possibility to travel should have this marathon on his/her bucket list!
And the PRO already wants to come back after all! So, we probably will eventually.
And when we do come back, I will videotape the whole race (and will do the backup…)
xoxo
RRM

 

[back to top]

Antes que nada, dos cosas.  Esta fue lejos la mejor experiencia deportiva de toda mi vida y no sé si podré superarla algún día!!! Conclusión: New York City, una ciudad fantástica! + los voluntarios increíbles + la gente alentando frenéticamente todo el recorrido = lo mejor de la carrera!!! Euforia absoluta los 42k!!! Tema PRO: ya vino lesionado desde Bs As y a su pregunta una semana antes de viajar “te parece que yo debería correr?” yo le dije: “obvio, a esta altura ya está. Es lo que es. Te lo vas a perder?…y lo mandé al muere…! 😦  Para el PRO también fue una experiencia que difícilmente olvide…por lo que sufrió!!! En el k15 le vendaron la rodilla y siguió…! Pero lo más importante en una carrera es siempre llegar. Pese a que muchas veces se nos interponen muchas dificultades, lo más complicado es sortearlas y seguir! Y eso fue lo que hizo mi PRO! Idolo! Su espíritu competitivo no lo dejó vencer y lo hizo!!!

También llegó! Te amo PRO! Nada te detiene!

Y ahora el reporte… Y a tener paciencia porque esto va a llevarme un tiempo…Qué experiencia!!! New York City Marathon 2013: la recapitulación.

 

LA EXPO.

Comienzo por nuestra llegada a NYC. Llegamos la mañana del 31 de octubre; luego de chequearnos en el hotel y desayunar nos fuimos directo para la Expo en el Jacob Javits Center en la 37th y la 11th ave.

 

 

 

Recien estaba abriendo así que no nos encontramos con demasiada gente. Había seguridad extra -que no había el año pasado- en la que se revisaban carteras y mochilas. Esto no demoró más de unos 10-15 minutos. Ya dentro, retiramos los kits. Todo super organizado. Muchísimos puestos ordenados por numero en donde nos entregaban el numero de bib. Pasando estos puestos fuimos a otros en los que nos permitían elegir el talle de la remera. Muy linda, técnica y de manga larga. Allí también nos entregaron la bolsa transparente.

 

 

Nota: Este año había 2 opciones para agilizar la salida de Central Park.1.Baggage: se dejaba ropa dentro de la bolsa, la cual UPS se encargaba de llevar a la llegada y que recogeríamos al terminar la carrera.2. No Baggage: no se dejaba nada y se podría salir más rápido al terminar la carrera + 1 poncho de abrigo. En nuestro caso -optado para todo el grupo por la agencia de viajes….BAGGAGE (grrrr…nunca me gustó la idea, pero no nos quedo otra opción -no pudimos elegir)…Más del tema al final… Como hubiéramos corrido también en 2012, nos regalaron una pulsera con la insignia 2012/2013 y nos dieron la medalla del 2012…! Jaa!

 

Y ahí a recorrer la expo, aprovechando que todavía la cantidad de gente nos dejaba caminarla con relativa tranquilidad.Estaban Asics por supuesto y todas las primeras marcas de ropa, geles, lentes, compression, etc Me conseguí unos lentes buenísimos que decidí sería lo único con lo que innovaría en la carrera.Hasta encontré estas fundas de lentes super cool con la bandera de mi país!

 

Me costó convencer al PRO de irnos…lo atacó mal el shopping…! Por suerte estaba encontrando algún otro item que no fuera amarillo flúo…

 

Más tarde fuimos a cambiar la cubierta de las plantillas…Un cafecito calentito y a descansar…

 

El Apple Store de la 5ta una locura -como siempre. Esta vez por el lanzamiento de un nuevo iPad. (Los chinos afloraban por debajo de las baldosas y se llevaban todo…)

 

Uuu, me estoy yendo de tema. Volvamos.

LA PREVIA.

Viernes muy tranquilo y el sábado a preparar todo para el domingo!!! A poner los nombres en la ropa: me llevé letras para planchar en las remeras una ver que decidiéramos lo que íbamos a usar. Desde el jueves que llegamos el clima fue super agradable entre 15 y 20 grados, pero el pronóstico decía que iba a bajar para el domingo.

 

Al final decidí por manga corta y manguitas.Y a dejar todo preparado para el día siguiente…

 

El Hilton decidió hacerse el “moderno” y no tener más restaurante, más que para desayunar. Sólo tiene un self-service de todo envasado para comer ahí, pedirlo para la habitación o para llevar. Nos dió pereza salir a cenar afuera así que a falta de room-service bajamos a ver que había. No encontramos pasta pero sí había unas pizzas tentadoras así que eso fue nuestra cena en el cuarto.

DOMINGO: LLEGO EL DIA!!!

 

Muuuy temprano…Nuestra largada era a las 10:05am por lo tanto mi primer desayuno consistió de…

5:30am nos subimos a una van que nos mandó la agencia que nos llevó a la estación de Ferry. Este video de Youtube muestra espectacularmente bien lo que fué movilizar a tanta gente:

 

 

 

Llegamos a Staten Island y de ahí nos subimos a otro bus (15-20 min) que nos llevaría finalmente al lugar de la largada.Nuevamente un puesto de seguridad y un detector de metales y a buscar nuestro color. Oops! Con la emoción me olvidé de sacar fotos…Pero básicamente caminamos, caminamos y caminamos; nuestro grupo de amigos se fue separando…Primero los del Verde (que largarían en el nivel de abajo de Verrazano- por suerte nos tocó arriba :P)…Luego el Naranja…Y finalmente el Azul…!!!Baños: sobraban por toooodos lados!

Mientras… nos fuimos turnando para visitar el baño por última vez, nos instalamos sobre unas bolsas de residuos que llevamos para poner sobre el pasto y desayunamos por segunda vez… Básicamente todo lo que no me pude terminar de comer antes…

 

El PRO dejó su bolsa 8:45 y yo me hice la macha y decidí no dejar nada de abrigo para la vuelta…(en realidad tenía planeado probar suerte y ‘colarme’ por la de ‘no bagagge’…shhh!)

NYCM38

A eso de las 9 am emprendimos la última caminata hacia el corral…Que emoción…!!! Más baños como se ve en las fotos dentro de los corrales (exactamente lo opuesto a Paris!)

 

{OMG! Me acabo de dar cuenta que perdí los videoooos…!!!!! Buaaaa!!!Esta mañana cambié de iPhone y como vi que estaban todas las fotos creí que también se habían pasado los videos…!!! Bueno, por suerte tengo varias fotos; pero no de durante la carrera… :} ACTUALIZADO: encontré uno que había subido a FB! (Así que voy a ilustrar un poco con material “prestado”, no propio) Ya cerrados los corrales estuvimos ahi unos minutos -que se me pasaron volando!- nos fuimos despojando de ropa y empezamos a avanzar. Ya desde el lugar de largada, muy cerca del arco delante del Verrazano Bridge volé la gorra de lana y la última capa que me había dejado (un buzo de minnie mousse horrible!); una voz femenina muy linda cantó el himno americano y luego de eso el clásico “My Way” de Frank Sinatra… super emocionante…!!!Y a largaaaaar!!!

 

NOTA: me acabo de “tomar prestadas” unas lindas fotos de running.competitor.com. Aparentemente estos chicos hicieron mejor trabajo que marathonphoto.com quienes sólo me tomaron fotos en Central Park y la llegada…mmm  :/Pensé que sería más apretado, pero sin embargo tenía mucho lugar a mis costados, considerando la cantidad enorme de corredores que éramos.Fue impresionante ir corriendo por el puente -enorme- y ver a nuestros costados los helicópteros que nos observaban y protegían en nuestro recorrido -estaban muuuy cerca!

La subida inicial del puente realmente no se nota con la emoción y la adrenalina; me retuve para no irme de pace. Saliendo del Verrazano entramos a Brooklyn. Y ahi empezó la mejor travesía de 42km de mi vida!

La gente alentando desde esa milla 2 a los costados de la avenida. Revoleé los guantes.A nuestra izquierda nos volvemos a juntar con los runners del naranja; unos minutos más tarde, pasado la marca de los 5k, se nos unieron por la derecha los runners del verde (que venían de la parte baja del puente) como un río que desembocaba en el nuestro…que impresionante!Y ahí seguimos todos por la Third Ave. Volaron las manguitas.

 

Este tramo es un poco monotono, pero con la adrenalina que llevaba encima se paso como nada…Me sentía bárbara, manteniendo un pace de 5:30 – 5:45 tal como lo tenía planeado.A la altura del 11k me parece sentir algo en el tensor de la fascia latta (ITB) pero dije: no, no; es sólo una sensación, puro producto de mi imaginación…a los 13k entramos en Lafayette Ave.

 

Una calle muy linda, arbolada…pero en la que ya no presté mucha atención: el tensor me dolía. Ninguna imaginacióooon…Paré a elongarlo un momento y seguí -cabe aclarar que la pose para estirar la fascia latta no es muy conveniente para una mujer, con gente que viene corriendo desde atrás… 😛

 

Mmmm, no. No muy práctico en la carrera… Razón por la cual que tenía que buscar un lugar en donde no hubiera, preferentemente, gente alentando; una misión casi imposible.Tantas cosas pasaron por mi cabeza…Cómo puede ser que no me polió nunca en toooodo mi bendito entrenamiento durante los 4 jodidos meses!!! No lo podía creerrrrr!!! Y en el k15! Por qué no en el k30…???!!!Y ahí me salió la luchadora, la que no se rinde nunca y persevera hasta lograr todo lo que quiere. A no, a mi no me vas a joder la carrera, pensé. Te estiraré cada milla pero en el medio: voy. a. correr. Como pueda. A eso vine. Y la voy a terminar. Y ahí seguí. A las puteadas pero convencida que le iba a dar batalla y a lograr mi objetivo de cualquier modo.

 

 

En la marca de los 21k se vino el primer puente, el Pulaski Bridge y caminé un poco. La bajada la aproveché y seguí corriendo. Siempre caminando en los puestos de hidratación para aflojarla y la alongaba un poco.

 

Y llegando al 25k el más temido de todos: el Queensboro Bridge. 2.8 km de los cuales 1.6k son en subida; que parecían interminables. Por supuesto caminé.Y se vino la bajada. Subí los cambios y le dí para adelante, tratando de aprovechar el envión y de no levantar mucho la rodilla para no acentuar el dolor. Todo era silencio, extraño después de km y km con espectadores gritando y alentando.Y en eso, ya cerca del final del puente los escuché de nuevo. Pero eran muchos más. Y estaban frenéticos!  {Recuperé un video!!! Por suerte lo había postrado en FB así que aquí esta…} [vimeo 99357173 w=500] Nos ofrecían de todo: caramelos, bananas, agua…y vaselina. Sí, la gente!

Y fué ahí, que la adrenalina volvió y fue una cosa increíble! Ahí cuando más yo lo necesitaba, no paré de escuchar mi nombre a cada paso que daba. Y no paré de hacer hi-5 a todo el mundo. Los chiquitos extendían las manos, los grandes, todos. Y la pierna me dejó de doler, o casi. Tenía la sonrisa estampada en la cara y no la podía evitar!Ahí vi una segunda bandera Argentina y les grité! Me dió una gran emoción!La gente que no paraba de gritarnos, a todos, como si nos conociéramos. Una sensación difícil de explicar, que me llenaba de energía.

A partir de ese km 26 en adelante todo fue alegría desenfrenada.  La First Ave es larga, y muchos me dijeron que se ponía monótonos pero esos 5k para mi pasaron muy rápido porque fui disfrutando a pleno de la buena energía que tiraba la gente. Qué lindo era escuchar mi nombre! Después a cruzar al Bronx. También mucha energía y pasó volando. De vuelta a Manhattan y pasamos el último puente. Qué emoción, no faltaba nada!

 

Ah! Del muro ni me acordé, ni me lo encontré…por suerte! Yo venía mirando las calles; no me acordaba muy bien a la altura de cuál empezaba el Central Park! Y después ese tramo hasta la 90th en que se entraba al Central Park se me hizo eterno…y en subida!!! Y finalmente entramos! Ahi sí que no faltaba nada… sólo unos 4k!!!

 

 

 

Esa calle por la que algunas otras veces corrí ahora se veía más angosta, llena de espectadores felices de ver a sus amigos, familiares y totales desconocidos como yo a los que no se cansaban de alentar.  Cuando salimos en la 59th tomé consciencia del tiempo que había pasado, ya que no daba el sol ya en la calle. Y la gente estaba bastante abrigada. Y ya en el Columbus Circle a nada de la llegada, vi unos carteles de 400 yardas…(y pensé bueno, las piletas son de 25 mts o de 25 yardas…debe ser mas o menos lo mismo…) 300….200….Donde estáaa?

 

 

Y ahí apareció por fin la meta: el arco con el que soñé despierta tantas veces, ese que no paré de ver en los videos de Youtube!!!Creo que mi cara lo dice todo…Qué felicidad!!! Lo logré. Llegué. En 4:22 hs

Misión numero 1: lograda. Debajo de las 4:30 Y en condiciones para caminar la vuelta al hotel!

 

 

EL POST.

Nos entregaron una manta térmica y una bolsa con un Gatorade recovery, pretzels, granola y una manzana.

NYCM0

 

Lo primero que hice fue manotear los pretzels; llegaba a haber algo dulce en la bolsa y se lo tiraba por la cabeza a alguien!Ahora…

Misión numero 2: lograr infiltrarme entre los “no baggage” e irme lo antes posible.

Primero -plan A- le pregunte a una voluntaria, la cual lo vio difícil pero me dijo que probara; a lo sumo me dirían que no.Y seguí. Pero luego vi a una chica, que la mandaron para la otra fila…mmmm se complicaba plan A. Entonces decidi seguir con el plan B: no preguntar más.Y ahi me mandé, entre los otros zombies, toda tapadita con la manta, detrás de unos más grandotes… y seguí de largo…hasta la Central Park West ya en sentido al Columbus Circle.Y ya había empezado a sentir mucho frío cuando aparecieron decenas de voluntarios y, sin que tuviéramos pedirlo, nos buscaban y nos envolvían con unos ponchos suuuper calentitos color naranja maratón 🙂

 

 

 

Ahora siiiiii….continué la eterna caminata -muchas calles valladas y muchas seguridad- hasta mi hotel.Ah! subí en el ascensor con Meb Keflezighi (que por supuesto ya estaba todocambiadito impecable) y casi le pido sacarme una foto -me salía la cholula que siempre creí no tener dentro…- pero no me animé (por suerte bajé a la tierra a tiempo)! Después me enteré que había tenido que parar y caminar pero que decidió terminar de todos modos…Igual que mi PRO…!!! Y hasta me felicitó a mi!!! Ja! Un día in-cre-í-ble! A todo el que le guste correr y tenga la posibilidad de viajar: este maratón tiene que estar en su bucket list!Y el PRO se quedó con la vena…así que en algún momento volveremos…y esta vez voy a filmar toda la carrera! (Y a hacer backup…)

xoxoRRM

[back top top]

 

5 thoughts on “NYC Marathon Recap

Add yours

  1. Congratulations! I’m from New York and so glad you enjoyed it! I’m really excited to do it for the first time next year myself and reading your post just makes me that much more excited. It is going to be the longest 12 months ever! And I’m glad you made it into the “zombie line!”

    Like

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

sweet sweat life

swimbikerunyogalifelove

Fine Fit Day

Fitness and Running Coaching with Carly Pizzani