So what

[Español más abajo 👇🏻

About two months ago, I sadly witnessed a horrible accident: a biker lady was hit by a car from behind. I won’t go into the details, but from that day on, I just could ride outside anymore. After all, training is a fun part of my life, but it’s not my life. So, putting things in order of priority, my life and family come first and from now on, I will ride indoors unless I’m in a race.

So I have been shifting like crazy lately. By the way I’m not one of the fewest anymore…I still remember when many would make fun of the platform, and now you have them on it, too. Even more and more pros are too. The fun thing is that you can ride along or draft them…if you can, of course. Lionel Sanders was one of the first pros on Zwift; he trained for Kona entirely on Zwift, on rollers after having a couple of close calls the previous years. Just this past weekend I heard a lot of the people are riding indoors due to the same reason: safety.

And as a matter of fact riding indoors is much more effective:

  • better use of the time: you jump up the bike and start your workout, no traffic lights, no turns, controlled climate.
  • even if you like in a flat place, you can always climb up mountains.
  • mental training.
  • you can make pit stops when ever you need it 😉

I started shifting a lot more during the winter. Not that it’s freezing here in Florida 🙂 but it gets cold enough for my wardrobe. I saw a lot of improvement in my FTP.

Then when we decided to do the Gran Fondo NY at the last minute (big disappointment on the this 2018 edition btw; I wish I had only kept the experience from my first GFNY back in 2010) I practiced hill climbing on Zwift, which btw made the real climbing extremely easy: yes, only with a few Zwift climb rides.

Then I know even though I really enjoy riding outside, the benefits that indoor training give me are endless. And at this moment is so f***ing hot outside…I forgot how hard it was!

Another topic: my bike.

I traded in my Cervelo P5X…for a Quintana Roo a few months ago and I can’t be more happy. It’s super lightweight and easy to maneuver. Everything the cervelo wasn’t. I considered other brands, like specialized, but I could find one. Then I studied the Felt, but again too heavy and too expensive! Are you kidding me?! Obviously so much money on advertising have to be returned.

To the honest, I should have never have bought the Cervelo. It is not intended for women. Too bulky, too heavy, and on of of it too expensive: not good at all. Have you ask yourself why pro athetes like Rachel Joyce or Caroline Steffen don’t use it anymore and went back to their old models…?

Third topic: Garmin watch

Im using the Fenix 5 right now and I’m kind of happy. The only downside I find is the color: black. It’s basically the exact same size than the Fenix 3 which btw came in a beautiful white and gold. But for some reason Garmin thinks that women only wear tiny watches so the only Fenix 5 that come in white is the 5S… I had it, but the screen is too small and THE BATTERY…! OMG! I had to recharge it every two days! Whats’s worst: the newer model Fenix 5S plus, dies even faster. YES IT DOES. Don’t bother buying it. Any other option? Not really, in my opinion. The 935 is horrible! Too plastic and cheap. So, I’m sticking with my 5 until they really come up with something else that’s worth it.


[Top 👍🏻]

Hace cosa de dos meses, presencié un accidente horrible en la calle. Una ciclista era arrollada por un auto por detrás. Sin entrar en los detalles del caso, decidí no rodar más en la calle. Por más lindo que sea, y por más buenas calles que tengo en mi zona para rodar…mi viuda y mi familia son más importante. Me encanta entrenar pero tengo cosas muuuucho más importantes en mi vida! Así que de acá en más, sólo voy a rodar afuera en las carreras.

Así que por esta razón vengo entrenando en Zwift como loca! Y no puedo creer lo mucho que me divierte. Y ya no soy una de los pocos. Todavia me acuerdo que muchos hacían bromas acerca de la plataforma, que parece un jueguito de play! Muchos de esos ahora ya no piensan lo mismo. Cada ve más y más pros están en Zwift, donde más podrías entrenar a la par de ellos o hacer drafting detrás…bueno, eso si pudieras seguirles el ritmo… Uno de los precursores en Zwift es Lionel Sanders, que después de tener un par de accidentes en la calle decidió entrenar para Kona pura y exclusivamente adentro, con Zwift y rollers…y salió 2do, que tal?

Justo este pasado fin de semana escuche que muchos triatletas están entrenando adentro por la misma razón: seguridad.

De hecho entrenar indoors tiene muchos beneficios:

  • Mejor uso del tiempo: sin semáforos, sin intersecciones, sin tormentas…
  • No importa el terreno en el que uno viva, en Zwift siempre hay montañas para trepar
  • entrenamiento de la fuerza mental
  • Un pit stop siempre a mano 😉

Empece a hacer mucho Zwift durante el invierno. No es que acá en Florida haga muchísimo frío pero lo suficiente para que me de pereza salir y ademas no tengo ropa adecuada! Y mejore mi FTP también.

Más adelante, con el Pro decidimos -a ultimo momento- anotarnos en el Gran Fondo NY (si, en mismo que corrimos en su primera edición en 2010…una gran desilusión en el 2018…ni me quise traer la medalla, se las hubiera tirado al Hudson) y para eso hice algunas trepadas en los Alps de Zwift en preparación para NY. No me sorprendí cuando me resulto muy fácil trepar en las subidas reales.

Así que , si bien me encanta rodar afuera,  los beneficios de hacerlo indoors son inmensos. Y en este momento hace tanto calor y hay tanta humedad, que es muy duro. Más temprano: 1 o 2 grados menos, pero + humedad; más tarde: menos humedad pero + calor…la verdad no se con cual me quedo.

Otro tema: mi bicicleta.

Cambié la Cervelo P5x -alias ‘adoquín’ – por una Quintana Roo. Y no puedo estar más contenta! Considere otras marcas como Specialized -que tuve mucho tiempo cuando hacia MTB- pero no puede conseguir ninguna para verla bien. Tambine pensé en un momento en la Felt, pero después de hacer un research, era tan pasada como la Cervelo y encima carísima al pedo! La trek siempre me gustó, pero no me convencía el modelo nuevo. Después vi la Quintana, la probe y me encantó. Es todo lo que la P5X no es. Nunca tuve que haber comprado la cervelo: es increíblemente pesada, aparatosa y encima cara. Yo creo que no esta pensada para mujeres. Sin ir mas lejos, por que será que ni Rachel Joyce ni Caroline Steffen la usan y volvieron al modelo de antes…?

Tercer y último tema: mi Garmin

Estoy con el Fenix 5. Es básicamente el mismo tamaño que el Fenix 3 (el mejor que tuve lejos al día de hoy!), solo que es negro, no lo hacen en blanco… Por alguna estúpida razón Garmin piensa que las mujeres sólo van a querer usar un reloj chico, y en consecuencia el único modelo que hacen en blanco es el 5S. El 5S me resulta muy chica la pantalla y encima la batería dura un suspiro: cada dos días lo tenía que recargar, una real cagada. El Fenix 5 me dura unos 5 – 6 días. Y los nuevos modelos 5S plus y 5 plus, duran encima menos! SI, MENOS. No se puede creer!

La otra opción era el 935…pero es muy plástico, no puede ser más feo y bajo en calidad. Así que hasta que Garmin no saque algo que realmente valga la pena, sigo con el 5.

 [Top 👍🏻]

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

sweet sweat life

swimbikerunyogalifelove

Fine Fit Day

Fitness and Running Coaching with Carly Pizzani