IM Chattanooga

[Español más abajo 👇🏻]

The town didn’t win so many Athletes’ Choice Awards for nothing. Chattanooga is a very nice little town full of great people who nicely welcomed us athletes, with many nice places to visit and really good restaurants to have a good meal.

I signed up for IM Chattanooga in July knowing it wasn’t an easy race. As I said some time ago, who wants easy? I don’t. I want challenge, that’s what drives me. I don’t like easy. I don’t like accomplishing anything easy just to place better or to achieve a better time, or to be closer to qualify. Curiously enough this was the closer I got to the front, in the hardest race I’ve competed in. And that my friends, that’s what drives me, that’s what makes me be better every time.

Going back to race week, we arrived to Chattanooga on Thursday (3 days ahead: race on Sunday) and stayed at the Courtyard just feet away from Ross’s Landing, where the Ironman village was placed. Nice little hotel, with nice staff, and they served Starbucks so I couldn’t ask for more!

IM Chattanooga sign

The room was ready, so as soon as we got in, I re-enssembled my bike. It took me less than an hour, which for me was a massive PR! Nothing rubbed, gears went up and down smoothly, everything was ok. Quintana Roo got an A+ on this matter, they couldn’t have done my work more simple, I loved it.

QR PR6
IM Choo Ironman Village

.

Then headed to the IM village to pick up my packet; that was when I was informed that the swim was cancelled. It was really sad because I was really looking forward to swim in the Tennessee river (and get a massive PR!), but it was clear that it wasn’t safe for us. Due to the rains there was a very strong current, lots of debris and much higher that safe E. Coli levels. The water looked very murky… kind of IM Texas, yak!

IM Choo flooding
You can see the level of the Tennessee River was way too high, there’s water where there should be grass and a pedestrian walk

The expo had some interesting goods, some of the ones I liked were Salming, Roka, and Little Debbie!!! OMG, so many yummy snacks!

.

Little Debbie's snacks

.

On Friday I placed all my stickers on the bike and helmet, and got all my bags ready. It was pretty straight forward since I pre-bagged everything at home so I did’t have to think about a thing.

Also attended to the athlete briefing. The guy who talked made it very interesting to listen to. He explained that the pros would start at 8am as a TT every 1 min and the rest of us at 8:30am, two athletes at a time every 5 sec.

When he talked about cut off times, he stressed that the best way to avoid it was: “don’t stop, keep moving don’t give up”; I remember I thought what I great way to encourage people to get to finish it. And I’d remember those words along the race on Sunday.

We had lunch at Henne’s (great restaurant!) and we went out for a run. I wanted to get a taste of the hills along Barton ave and to be honest it didn’t feel too hard at all (at that moment…I would change my mind on Sunday).

Later that day we visited the Aquarium. Wow! WTH?! I never expected to be such a huge thing! Two buildings: one for sea water, the other for fresh water, and a third building that projected three max movies. Amazing. Unbelievable!

Also rode around to test shifting and to make sure everything was working ok.

IM Choo
IM Choo

Saturday noon I checked in my bike. They not only took pictures of it but also asked me about my components, wheels and tires, and running shoes brand. They entered all the info in an iPad.

Transition IM Choo
IM Choo Bike checkin
IM Choo Transition Run Bags

In the afternoon we took the free bus and visited the old train station: Chattanooga Choo Choo.

.

Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo

.

I got new Starbucks mugs to add to my collection 🙂

.

Starbucks Mugs

Sunday: race morning

Since we were so close to transition plus the late start, I woke up around 5:30am (pretty late for an ironman!) and had breakfast in the room (although the Bistro was open from 4am)

At 6:30 I headed down to transition to got everything ready. Then went back to the room to rest for one more hour!

At 8am the Pro and I lined up next to the bike out area to watch the pros start. They seemed so relaxed! We even had a little chat with some of them. Some of the pros there were Cody Beals, who had beaten Lionel Sanders a couple of weeks before in Mount Tremblant, Matt Russell, Joe Gambles and Scott Defilippis. It was really nice to watch them start.

Once the pros started, at 8:30 am was time for the age groupers to start. They called the lower numbers first 100 to 200, and so on.

Bike.

116 miles 5:50 hrs 

My bib number was 1067 and I started around 9am. The course was really nice. Due to the TT start, the first 60k were pretty congested. The fact that I had to over pass so many people during those 1 1/2 – 2 hours was kind of draining. But once I hit that 60 – 70k mark the people had spread a lot and I started to enjoy the scenery, which btw was beautiful.

IM Choo Bike
IM Choo Bike
IM Choo Bike

Had a few small inconveniences. First, as soon as I started I felt something rubbing my inner tights…and saw a gel flew out of my bike, and the salt pills. WTH!? Didn’t mind, I wasn’t very hot and it was cloudy most of the time, so it wouldn’t be a big problem.

Later on when climbing into Jog Howl I changed to the small ring and when I went back to the big one, this noise started…and didn’t end. The good thing is that I no longer needed to shout “on your left” because they already knew I was coming! LOL.

And the last -but not least- inconvenience: I was filling my front bottle with endurance and when I took the bottle out, with it was the lid of my bottle that flew away in a second. Really??? I still had half of the distance to go. So I would fill if half way through in hopes it wouldn’t splash much. It did anyway, but at this point, I didn’t really care. “Endurance shower” at every road imperfection.

Regarding the nutrition, my plan was really simple: rely on the on course endurance mostly and just add a gel every hour or so. It worked like a charm!

I knew I was pushing a little too much on the climbs, but if felt so good that I didn’t really care. Although I knew I would pay for it later on the run.

The aid stations were placed on the right every 15 miles or so and they always had the drinks cool, which I really appreciated. The volunteers were very well trained on how to handle the bottles, specially for me -I’m a lefty 🙂

Ironman had arranged buses to take spectators to Chikamauga. there were hundreds of people, it was so exhilarating! And the Pro was there to cheer for me. I didn’t see him on time but I heard him scream my name and I shouted back!

We went through Chikamauga twice, the second time just before heading back to Chattanooga. The last 20 km seemed longer and I realized the those 4 more miles (Ironman Chattanooga bike course is 116 mi instead of 112 mi) that this course have were noticeable by now.

Back into transition, a volunteer took my endurance sticky bike and into the tent.

Run.

26.2 miles – 4:39 hrs

I really appreciate all the volunteers’ help, don’t take me wrong, none of this would be possible with out them. I remember my volunteer in IM Texas was even more hyper that I was and she practically dressed me by herself. But this time mine were a little drowsy, probably unprepared. Anyway I was offered some water and handed my things once I explained what I needed them to help me with and off I was!

IM Choo Run out

Out of the tent my heart rate felt kind of high. Slowly went back to normal and I found my rhythm.  I felt good for a while.

I continued with the same nutrition plan, but added some salt and really adjusted depending on how I was feeling. I’m lucky enough to know my body pretty well, I listen to it, and proceed as I need to.

At mile 8 my legs were not responding that well. Saw the Pro at the beginning of the first bridge and he told me I was 9th which was a nice surprise. I had to keep pushing, but I still had a long way to go. The hills that on Friday looked not that bad felt much harder now. The course consisted in two loops with the hilly section at the 12th and 22nd mile marks…I don’t have to tell you how the hills felt at mile 22! It was brutal. I am not gonna lie: I walk on a few climbs on the second loop. My calves felt like they wanted to cramp. I had some medication in my special needs bag but I could not remember which mile they were at! How could I!? I wasn’t planning on using it so I didn’t pay attention: big mistake!

IM Choo Run

Anyway, kept moving forward as fast as my legs allowed me to (which wasn’t that fast at all) and I was thankful I was doing it again: the sun was still up and the last hundred yards were in front of me. The feeling you get coming up the finish shoot is indescribable. And the Pro was waiting for me to give me my medal.

And I ended up placing 8th, which later turned out to be 7th!!!

Total time: 10:34 hrs

7th Category (out of 122)

75th gender rank (out of 635)

356th overall (out of 1966)

IM Chattanooga Finish Line
Finish Line IM Choo 2018
IM Chattanooga Medal
IM Chattanooga Medal
IM Chattanooga Medal 2018

I learned a few things on this trip:

  • how to remove discs from wheels to travel.
  • how to enjoy the town and be a tourist before the race with zero anxiousness.
  • follow my guts and listed to the right people when buying a new bike
  • not stressing out about pre-race food: Fajitas and pizza also work just fine! 🙂
  • plan a nutrition plan that actually works well!
  • I really should pay attention to the IF if I want to perform well on the run.
  • Remember where the special needs are going to be!

[Top 👍🏻]

IM Chattanooga no gano tango premios por elección de la gente por nada. Chattanooga es un pequeño pueblo lleno de gente super amable que nos dio la bienvenida a los atletas con los brazos abiertos. Lleno de lugares muy lindos e interesantes para visitar y muy buenos restaurants para completar la buena experiencia.

Me anote en el Ironman Chattanooga algunos meses atrás sabiendo que no era una carrera fácil. Pero quien quiere fácil? Yo no. Lo que me motiva es el reto a hacer algo fuera de mi zona de comfort. No me interesa hacer nada, si el único objetivo es alcanzar un mejor tiempo, salir mejor en las posiciones o acercarme a poder calificar para un championship. Tiene que haber algo más que me provoque. Por esa razón no es casualidad que me haya ido tan bien en Chattanooga: tenia esa cuota de dificultas que me llamaba. Fue dura, pero que mayor satisfacción que haber quedado 7ma en mi categoría en una carrera dura?! Eso es lo que me motiva a seguir mejorando. Y lo mejor es que es premio mío y solo mío: porque me entreno yo SOLA.

Volviendo a la semana de la carrera, llegamos a Chattanooga el jueves (3 dias antes de la carrera que era el Domingo) y no quedamos en el Courtyard Downtown. El hotel es chicos pero muy lindo, prolijo y con un staff maravilloso. Ademas servían cafe de Starbucks, así que mejor imposible!

IM Chattanooga sign

Ya teniamos el cuarto, así que me puse a armar mi bici apenas nos acomodamos. En menos de una hora la tenia lista. Mi tiempo record! Un 10+ para Quinatan Roo que hizo mi vida mucho mas faca pre carrera. Me encanta!!!

QR PR6
Me ‘cansé’ de recibir halagos por el diseño de mis mariposas en la bici! Que lindo ver que mi trabajo rindió sus frutos!
IM Choo Ironman Village

Despues fuimos al Ironman Village a retirar mi kit, y ahi es cuando me informan que el swim se había cancelado… Una desilusión porque realmente tenia muchas ganas de nadar en el Tennessee River (Y alcanzar mi mejor tiempo!!), pero me quedo clarísimo que no era seguro. Debido a grandes lluvias e inundaciones el rio tenia una corriente demasiado fuerte y trata con sigo muchos restos de basura y un altísimo nivel de E. Coli. Desde el puente el agua se veía realmente sucia y asquerosa (lo que me trata recuerdos de IM Texas…ugggg!)

La expo tenia varias marcas interesantes: algunas de las que mas me gustaron fueron Salming, Roka, y Little Debbie!!! OMG!!! Qué ricooo!!!

Little Debbie's snacks

El viernes, puse todos mis stickers en la bici, casco y bolsas. Deje todas mis bolsas listas, lo que fue muy rápido ya que traigo todo pre-enbolsado de casa para no tener que pensar en nada.

Fuimos también a la charla técnica. Nos explicaron que los profesionales empezarían a las 8 am como un Time Trial uno cada 1 minuto. El resto de los mortales empezaríamos 8:30 am de dos en dos cada 5 segundos.

Cuando el hombre que dio la charla toco l tema de los tiempos de Cut Off (tiempos limite para terminar cada disciplina) uso algo así como estas palabras: “no paren, sigan para adelante, no se rindan”. Y esas palabras quedaron en mi cabeza y me las auto repetiría a lo largo de la carrera.

Almorzamos en Henne’s y mas tarde salimos a correr un poco. Yo quería ir a las cuestas del otro lado del rio para entender que tan complicadas eran y la verdad no se sentían tan complicadas…Aunque mi opinion cambiaria rotundamente el Domingo.

Mas tarde visitamos el Aquarium. Que sorpresa nos llevamos! Increíble, que espectacular!!! Un edificio de agua salada, otro de agua dulce y un tercero con tres salas de películas iMax. Nos sorprendió mucho la calidad de las instalaciones la variedad de animales y el tamaño de los estanques, nunca vimos una cosa parecida.

Chattanooga Aquarium

Mas tarde di unas vueltas para probar que todo este funcionando ok!

Sábado por la mañana hice el check in de la bicicleta. No sólo tomaron fotos de la bici pero también tomaron nota (en un iPad) de la marca de los componentes, ruedas y cubiertas; también zapatillas que usaría en el run.

Por la tarde tomamos el bus del pueblo y visitamos la vieja estación de tren Chattanooga Choo Choo.

También conseguí más tazas para sumar a mi colección:

Starbucks Mugs

Domingo: dia de la carrera

Como estábamos a metros de la transición, me levante 5:30 am para desayunar (bastante tarde para un ironman; usualmente 4:15 es un buen horario). 6:30 am abrir transición y lleve la comida/ bebida y deje la bici lista. Aproveché y voliciones al cuarto a descansar un rato más.

A las 8 am bajamos con el Pro y vimos como largaban los profesionales. Me sorprendió lo relajados que se veían e incluso intercambiamos algunas palabras con algunos de ellos. Entre los que competían ese día estaban Cody Beals, quien le ganó el primer puesto aLionel Sanders un par de semanas antes en Mount Tremblant, Matt Russell, Joe Gambles y Scott Defilippis. Fue lindo verlos largar.

Bike.

187 km – 5:50 hrs 

A las 8:30 am empezaron a largar al resto de la gente empezando por los números mas bajos. Yo tenia el numero 1067 y largué como a las 9 am.

La ruta era muy linda aunque la empece a disfrutar recién a partir del km 60 o 70. Hasta ese momento la ruta estaba muy congestionada debido al tipo de largada y fue un gasto de energía tener que pasar a tanta gente. Ya mas adelante estábamos bastante mas separados.

A lo largo de la bicicleta, tuve una serie de pequeños inconvenientes que por suerte no me sacaron la cabeza de la carrera y hasta me resultaron graciosos.

Primero, empece a sentir cosas que me rozaban la entrepierna hasta que en una más de las imperfecciones del pavimento, vi salir volando un gel y junto con él el resto de mis pastillas sal. Bueno, al fin y al cabo no hacia mucho calor, y en cuanto a los geles tenía de más, así que decidí no darle importancia.

Más tarde, en el primer loop y subiendo a Jog Howl cambie al plato chico. Cuando volví al grande Chan! Empece con un ruido de algo raspando que no paro por el resto de la carrera. Si la bici iba para adelante y me dejaba acelerar, no había motivo para parar. Lo bueno fue que no tenia que avisar antes de pasar: ya me escuchaban venir!!!

Y la frutilla del postre: terminando el primer loop, y cuando terminaba de recargar mi botella del frente,  la saqué y con ella voló la tapa de mi botella aero. A partir de ese momento no paré de bañarme en endurance con cada imperfección del camino…

En cuanto a la nutrición, mi plan fue consumir endurance ofrecido en los puestos de hidratación, más algunos geles.

Sabia que estaba poniendo watts de mas en las cuestas pero me sentía tan bien que no me importo demasiado, aunque sabía que lo iba a pagar en el run.

Las estaciones de hidratación estaban puestas aproximadamente cada 24 km y los voluntarios estaban muy bien estrenados para dar las botellas… especialmente a mí que soy zurda 🙂

La organización tenia preparados buses para llegar a los espectadores hasta Chikamauga (justo en el ultimo tramo del loop. Había cientos de personas alentando!!! Mucha energía positiva!!! No logre ver al Pro pero lo escuche gritarme y eso me encantó!

Pasamos por Chikamauga dos veces, la segunda justo antes de doblar y volver a Chattanooga. En ese tramo la verdad es que se notaron los 7 km de más (IM Chattanooga tiene un bike de 186.7 km en lugar de 180 km).

Ya de vuelta en la tracision, un voluntario tomó mi bicicleta toda pegajosa tomé mi bolsa y entré al tent.

Run.

42 km –  4:39 hrs 

Siempre aprecio todo el trabajo de los voluntarios, ya que sin ellos nada de estos seria posible realmente. Recuerdo a mi voluntaria en Texas, se vacío la bolsa y prácticamente me vistió, hizo todo por mi, una genia! ojalá recordara su nombre… Bueno, no fue el caso acá, quizás por falta de entrenamiento, o por respeto, pero no estuvo mal. Me dieron agua y en menos de 5 minutos estuve afuera. Estaba muy acelerada y agitada.

IM Choo Run out

Me tomo un poco de tiempo desacelerarme y encontrar mi ritmo.

Continue mi plan de nutrition muy bien. Por suerte me conozco bastante bien y lo puedo ir ajustando sobre la marcha dependiendo de como me siento.

Al km 13 ya mis piernas no estaban respondiendo muy bien. Me encontré al Pro en el primer puente y me dijo que iba #9. Fue un sorpresa que me dio energías para seguir empujando. Todavía me faltaba mucho. Las cuestas de dos dias antes ya no se sentían tan sencillas. Y ni hablar cuando las tuve que pasar después del km 33… Eran un infierno! En un momento sentí que me estaba por acalambrar. Tenia algo para tomar en mi bolsa de SN pero no me acordaba en cual km estaban! Nunca las vi, ya las había pasado.

IM Choo Run

Segui lo mejor que pude y una vez que pase el puente peatonal (el azul símbolo de Chattanooga) sabía que ya me quedaban unos pocos cientos de metros, estaba terminando mi segundo full ironman, aun de día. Lo que se siente entrando en los últimos metros en el ‘finishing shoot’ con la alfombra roja, es difícil de describir. El Pro me estaba esperando del otro lado para darme la medalla ❤️.

Y terminé #8 y mas tarde me enteré que en realidad fui #7 en mi categoría!!!

Tiempo total: 10:34 hrs

7 en mi categoria (de 122)

75 mujeres (de 635)

356 general (de 1966)

Siempre aprendo algo nuevo y lo que aprendí con esta carrera (para tener en cuenta para la próxima!!!) fue:

  • Como remover los discos de freno de. las ruedas, para tener menos riesgos durante el viaje.
  • Disfrutar del viaje como una turista y estar cero ansiosa.
  • Seguir sin instintos, y escuchar a la gente indicada al comprar una bicicleta nueva.
  • No estresarme por la comida pre-carrera: Fajitas y pizza van perfectas! 🙂
  • Planificar un plan de nutrition para la carrera que funcione perfecto y seguirlo o modificarlo en carrera a la perfección.
  • Recordar mantenerme en el IF acotado en la bici si quiero tener una muy buena performance en el run.
  • Prestar attention para la Proxima y recordar en donde estancia la bolsas de Special Needs.

[Top 👍🏻]

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

sweet sweat life

swimbikerunyogalifelove

Fine Fit Day

Fitness and Running Coaching with Carly Pizzani